Author Topic: Learning Mandarin.  (Read 2379 times)

Offline wilsbrough

• Li
Learning Mandarin.
« on: October 30, 2009, 05:10:06 pm »
Hi guy's.

I see that quite a few of us are trying to learn to speak Mandarin, either self taught or at night school/college etc. I thought a thread on helping each other out maybe helpful.

I have a question. It is about the word (ma) This is when it is used at the end of a sentence as a question form, ie, ni hao ma? (how are you?) My Question is, how do you know when to use it? As, if i ask you your name (Qing wen ni jiao shen me ming zi?) The question form ma is not used. This is really confusing me and if anyone can help with the answer, i would appreciate it.

Cheers,
Andy...
« Last Edit: October 30, 2009, 05:13:49 pm by wilsbrough »
Every now and then i get a little bit nervous at the death of all the years have gone by....!

Offline Proteus

RE: Learning Mandarin.
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2009, 09:41:14 pm »
Quote from: 'wilsbrough' pid='21431' dateline='1256937006'

Hi guy's.

I see that quite a few of us are trying to learn to speak Mandarin, either self taught or at night school/college etc. I thought a thread on helping each other out maybe helpful.

I have a question. It is about the word (ma) This is when it is used at the end of a sentence as a question form, ie, ni hao ma? (how are you?) My Question is, how do you know when to use it? As, if i ask you your name (Qing wen ni jiao shen me ming zi?) The question form ma is not used. This is really confusing me and if anyone can help with the answer, i would appreciate it.

Cheers,
Andy...

Morning Andy :icon_cool:

Simply speaking, you can take it this way. "?"(ma) is used in what we call general question in grammar. By general question we mean whose answered with "yes" or "or".

ni ming bai le ma?