Author Topic: Tutoring & Teaching Tales from China............  (Read 11312 times)

Offline Rhonald

• Ziyan Zhou (Yan)
  • Moderators
Re: Tutoring & Teaching Tales from China............
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2010, 01:38:34 pm »
If the classroom is dull, then you can liven it up by teaching them the "Saftey Dance" song... oops thats right you do have a hat so wrong group  :o
Life....It's all about finding the Chicks and Balances

Paul Todd

« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2010, 08:53:07 pm »
That damn hat, will I never live it down :'( Still, a lesson on hats, could be a good idea Rhonald  :) That's the beauty of teaching English here all you need is a hook to hang the lesson on then you could move it on to geography or culture or in any direction you choose! Now where is that damn hat!

Paul Todd

« Reply #17 on: January 07, 2011, 10:31:50 pm »
Well who would of believed it, I've been a teacher here for 1 year and it's time to renew my contract already. The universities " Foreign teacher liaison officer"(that would be one of the few staff here that can speak passable English!) contacted me last week and asked if I intended to stay for another year. I told him I was considering it but had a few concerns and that I would talk to him latter about them. The next step was to call my manager ( That would be my wife) and tell her what was happening. She immediately sprang into action and called the school and then drove up to have a face to face meeting!
Within an hour I had a raise in salary and a guarantee of my teaching hours never exceeding 9 hours a week and full medical insurance! Plus we were taken out for a very nice meal that evening all paid for by the university. Latter at home I asked her what she had said and she told me that it was basically a list of how good a teacher I was, how they were lucky to have me, how I could easily find work at another school, you can imagine the rest. They rolled over quite easily she said, with a wicked grin!