Author Topic: To all the Business guys here!  (Read 1608 times)

Offline Josh Markley

• Inmate #cqa1265789
    • http://joshchinaadventure.blogspot.com/
To all the Business guys here!
« on: December 24, 2011, 12:11:02 am »
There is a large need for more fitness centers in the city I live in.  It is the 3rd largest city in the state of missouri with 250,000 residents.  There is only one fitness center to account for the whole population.  In the next five years I want to open at least 3 facilities.  I will have to borrow money from the SBA since I am a full time student that pulls in about 12 grand a year.  I have no idea the first thing about a business plan, or where to search for the funds.  What I do know is the fitness industry I know it will work here and have the passion to start it.  Any info will be great.
麥杰德
QQ 859407630

Vince G

Re: To all the Business guys here!
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2011, 12:36:51 am »
Not quit that easy Josh. SBA doesn't give money up for a startup. After in business for a few years then they might, same on Grants from the gov. Same as I am doing soon... beg, borrow, and ask for investors (investors don't do startup either). Loans with collateral is one way, like owning a home against the loan. These days things are even tighter bank wise.

Offline David E

• David and Ming
  • My favourite photo
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2011, 03:56:58 am »
Josh

I am CEO of a large Management Consulting Business....my advice to you is:

We see very few small Businesses fail because of lack of expertise...we see many small Businesses fail because of lack of Working Capital.

You must make enough funding provisions to see you through the difficult earlydays (negative cash-flow, high start-up costs etc).

Expanding too rapidly is also a dangerous place to be...again due to high costs and low initial returns.