All About China > Understanding Chinese Women

Chinese cooking in the new Western World

(1/3) > >>

JohnB:
A funny thing happened on the way to the oven--

I thought I would surprise Jing on Thanksgiving. Cook the bird. This was not to be.
We bought a small fresh turkey this past Sunday. I am a good cook (I think, she doesn't), especially fowl. Anyway, I got home Tuesday and Jing had cooked the bird....her way!
The thing looked pitiful. Jing had removed part of the breast meat, stir fry for later use. The bird was splayed out in a large skillet of all things, in the upper rack of the oven, looking like a rag doll left out in the rain. Mind you, Jing had mentioned she has never seen an oven much less used one. New experiences can be surprisingly brutal. Still, it was edible, not too bad with Jing's homemade gravy. I do not know what she used for the gravy, it was not turkey stock.

Last night I took out a couple of frozen (in water) pork chops I cut up from a pork roast we bought at Costco.
It may be an interesting day this Thanksgiving Day.

Jing has developed a taste for cheese, but it is most unfortunate that she places little distinction on the use of the different variety of cheeses. Her favorite seems to be mozzarella.
I do not think it mentioned before, Chinese cooking in their new Western World. I am beginning to realize the kitchen is the wife's domain. Husband enters at own peril.

Arnold:
Funny story John for sure! :o