Author Topic: Chinese Family Etiquette  (Read 2102 times)

Paul Todd

Chinese Family Etiquette
« on: April 12, 2009, 05:49:35 pm »
I've been talking to my lady on web cam for a few months now. Her Mother is well on side and approves of our marriage and her father passed away a good few years ago. So the other day her older brother who I have never seen shows up, a jolly red faced man,smiles,nods his head and goes away.My lady asks in a formal way "If I would come over and meet with him". I say that "I would be honoured to meet her older brother" Now I'm not sure how this family etiquette works,do I have to get his blessing now the father has passed away or is she just giving face to her elder brother? Any advice guy's?

Offline Ed W

Re: Chinese Family Etiquette
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2009, 06:03:06 pm »
maybe someone else might correct me but as far as I understand, him being the elder male, he's now responsible for the family. I'm unclear how far that goes since I'll also be meeting with an elder brother, but both parents are still alive.

Perhaps, ask her?
Alright earthlings, what form do you want me to take?....How about a taco, ....that craps icecream?  My trip to china

Arnold

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2009, 09:17:04 pm »
I know for a fact , that the older brother does take the place of a passed away father , and in turn you must be on his good side to be with your Lady , unless she 's been Married before , which case it does relax matter's . I have felt this myself , even with both Qing's Parent's still alive . He carries a lot of weight in the Family . But not to scare on off his Lady , ask like Vince say'd to be sure , because I'm sure it varies with Family's and between City's and Countryside's .

Paul Todd

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2009, 06:01:39 pm »
Thanks for all the advice guy's