Author Topic: Going to Zhanjiang - how?  (Read 2088 times)

Offline Hans

• Once you go Asian you never go Caucasian
    • http://motpol.blogspot.com
Going to Zhanjiang - how?
« on: October 24, 2009, 04:47:53 pm »
I am searching for a ticket to China in late December and will buy it very soon. I am planning on visiting my lady in Zhanjiang, Guangdong. We have been talking about what would be the best route for me. First I thought flying from Stockholm to Guangzhou was the best option followed by a one hour flight to Zhanjiang. However, it turns out that one hour flight is very expensive, at least when I have been searching the net: 1500 RMB. In Sweden it would cost less than 60 USD. Being a student I need to keep my expenses down. Another option is to fly to Hong Kong (which is more expensive) and then fly to Zhanjiang from there (which is supposed to be a bit cheaper than flying from Guangzhou).

I was thinking about other options as well: either bus or train (certainly cheaper but also very time consuming!). Do you guys have any experience with busses or trains in China? I have always been flying when in China and have no experience of others ways of travel between cities. I know enough Chinese to ask for directions to bus or train terminals etc. but not to make any detailed conversation yet.