Author Topic: Another newbie being scammed?  (Read 6925 times)

Offline fyeba

Another newbie being scammed?
« on: November 15, 2009, 05:28:55 am »
Hi all,

I'm hoping there are some more experienced guys out there than can give me their opinion on whether I'm being scammed or not.

I've been writing to a girl (I think) from Baoding for a couple of months and I thought things were going pretty well until recently.  Some things have been happening that seem a bit hinky.

To cut to the short, I started noticing some vague responses to specific questions I would ask about conversations we had in previous letters.  These weren't difficult questions and should have been able to be answered easily.  

Then, I sent her a few gifts that should have had a 'special meaning' from the exchanges that we had.  This is where things start to get real questionable.

The first sign of a problem was that I had delivery tracking on the package and I got notice that is was delivered on a particular day.  Well two days go by with us exchanging letters each day and no acknowledgement of the package.  I didn't say anything because I was already having concerns.

I got busy with my work and didn't send any more messages for a couple of days.  

When I do send another message, apologizing for not writing sooner...of course.  I also asked about the package and I get the following response:
"I am sorry for the gift because I have just been to Beijing to join one of my friend's wedding at 11 th . My father telephoned me when he received the gift the day before yesterday . So I told her to take care of the gift as soon as I come home today , I run to my father's home to get the present ".

Also in the letter, she had this comment about the translator and the receipt of the package: