Author Topic: After you bring her and her/ your new son here...then what?  (Read 3711 times)

Offline fivetrout

After you bring her and her/ your new son here...then what?
« on: April 30, 2013, 05:45:23 pm »
Hi all!

A question that requires a good answer. If all continues to proceed as planned, I will marry in August in Wuhan. What has not been resolved...is that when I bring her and her son (16) over here (US) and so how we will go about his schooling? He will have two years left in high school and plans on college here. I have hinted to her that he needs to complete his high school in china as we can't just drop him off to a high school here. Anyway, a friend who is Chinese suggested that he finish school and stay with relatives in china before joining us here, but I don't think she will want any part of that. I don't have children of my own and so I have no experience with schooling. I am looking to relocate to an area with a Chinese community...Denver perhaps?

Any input?

Chris

Offline David E

• David and Ming
  • My favourite photo
Re: After you bring her and her/ your new son here...then what?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 06:11:46 pm »
Chris

I have been through the scenario you describe, my wife's son had 2 more years to go in High School at the time she came to Aus to be with me.

After much "wrangling" I finally got her to understand that to simply have her Son transfer from a Chinese High School ino an Australian one would be ruinous for his future.

The language issue, the different Curriculum and Culture would forever doom him to a low grade Educational outcome by doing it this way. We compromised by arranging (and me paying for !!!) an apartment for him and also for close supervision by her family so that he could finish High School in China.

At that point he can come here to Aus as a foreign University Student and join many others doing it this way, there are a wide range of special Uni courses and options for foreign Students.