Author Topic: What would happen if....????  (Read 1617 times)

Offline 2hip

• Red Wabbit
What would happen if....????
« on: March 05, 2014, 02:39:44 am »
I am not naive.  I do not seek trouble.  But.....smile....A lady i correspond with in N. East China thinks she can get a tourist visa to visit USA.  Her sister has one and visits several times a year.  She is very nice lady, respectable, intelligent, and pretty shy nature.  She is in her early 50's.  I am 60 years old and doing alright in every department.

Here is the question she proposed to me.  If she came to the USA on a tourist visa what would happen if the chemistry we think is there is truly there?  She asked if i would marry her.  Of course, this sent the red flags snapping in a high breeze.  I told her that i have done a K-1 before, she died of breast cancer and i have no knowledge as to what troubles we would land in if we did decide to marry while she had her tourist visa.

If she was here and we married.  Gents...what sort of land mine am i stepping on from the legal point of view?  Could they deport her and make me file a K-3?  Or would they allow me to do some sort of extension or change in status to her tourist visa?  If deported and forced to do a K-3...have i pretty much screwed the pooch and immigration will make me take the slow boat to China (literally) and take years to get her here?  If i marry her and we stay under the radar for some time am i in a bad legal position with my government.  i.e., think of the movie "Green Card" ?