Author Topic: direct contact  (Read 4839 times)

Offline Neil

• happily married, working on immigration
  • Zhangping, Fujian bound.
direct contact
« on: May 11, 2009, 02:30:51 pm »
I've been talking with my girl daily for nearly 4 months now and I plan on visiting this August.  I would like to hear her voice or see her on webcam before I go but it's really not that big of a deal if I can't.  I definitely don't want to pressure her in any way and I get the impression she's under the no-direct-contact rule at the moment.  Our letters are amazing and she has become so responsive and open in the last month.  She answers all my questions, reassures me, encourages me and asks great questions herself.  I may tell her I'm dying to hear her voice or something to that effect to try and hint at direct contact.  

My question is, do you guys think it is fine to travel to China to meet her without first having some sort of direct contact?  I've sent her gifts and gotten pictures of her holding them so I'm positive she's real.  I'm not worried about that at all.
...as irresistible as chocolate

Offline JimB

• http://www.jandyenterprises.com
RE: direct contact
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 02:56:28 pm »
I would make every effort to talk to her in some fashion.  You just want to make sure she is the one responding to your letters and not the translator.  She may be embarrassed about her english skills but try to reinforce that you are not that great in Chinese either.  It can get sticky if you do not.  I got lucky even though the translator was answering my letters.  She really didnt know me when I got there.  After that it is up to you.   You are taking a shot anyway but I would not want to waste a trip and the expense without some sort of acknowledgment that she is the one answering at least most of the letters.